Official City Seal
The design focuses on the rich history of Wylie and its incorporation in 1887.
Wylie was organized in the early 1870s and was originally called Nickelville, reportedly after the name of the first store. In 1886 the Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway laid tracks a half mile north of the original town site. That same year Nickelville moved to take advantage of the railroad and named their new location Wylie, in honor of W.D. Wylie, a right-of-way agent for the railroad. In fact, the Document of Incorporation lists the railway as one of the town's boundaries.
In 1887 a second railway, The St. Louis, Arkansas and Texas, passed through Wylie, later to be named the St. Louis Southwestern in 1891.