Home  |   Contact  |   Email This Page  |   Print This Page
logo
 
 
 
Adult Services Staff Picks
Christy
First FrostFirst Frost
Sarah Addison Allen

Synopsis: It’s October in Bascom, North Carolina, and autumn will not go quietly. As temperatures drop and leaves begin to turn, the Waverly women are made restless by the whims of their mischievous apple tree…and all the magic that swirls around it. But this year, first frost has much more in store. Lose yourself in Sarah Addison Allen’s enchanting world and fall for her charmed characters in this captivating story that proves that a happily-ever-after is never the real ending to a story. It’s where the real story begins.

Christy Says: This was a wonderfully entertaining and quick read. If you are looking for a fun little getaway from life, this is a wonderful pick. There is magic and whimsy, as well as several unexpected turn of events that are sure to surprise! A truly pleasant read for when you just want to escape for a while.

Call Number: F ALL



Donna
Girl with all the giftsThe Girl With All the Gifts
Mike Carey

Synopsis: Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointed at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Donna Says: If you’re a fan of apocalyptic thrillers, then try Mike Carey’s version of “the end of the world as we know it.” Carey crafts a compelling story with fleshed out characters, plenty of action and some scary science. It is a quick, enjoyable read that will make you question your definition of humanity.


Call Number: SFF F CAR



Elizabeth
One Plus OneOne Plus One
JoJo Moyes

Synopsis: Suppose your life really sucks. Your husband has done a vanishing act, your teenage stepson is being bullied and your math wiz daughter has a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that you can’t afford to pay for. That’s Jess’s life in a nutshell until an unexpected knight-in-shining-armour offers to rescue them. Only Jess’s knight turns out to be Geeky Ed, the obnoxious tech millionaire whose vacation home she happens to clean. But Ed has big problems of his own, and driving the dysfunctional family to the Math Olympiad feels like his first unselfish act in ages or maybe ever.

Elizabeth Says: Want something light for your summer vacation? I give you One Plus One by JoJo Moyes. This book has everything you need for the perfect summer read: a road trip, an improbable romance, and a huge dog. A makeshift family takes a road trip to give the youngest member a shot at attending a prestigious private school. Due to a series of unfortunate events, an almost complete stranger is now driving a single mom, her two kids and a large dog across the country. Even though you’ve seen similar elements before, One Plus One has its own brand of charm.

Call Number: F MOY


Megan
Narrow RoadThe Narrow Road to the Deep North
Richard Flanagan

Synopsis: A novel of the cruelty of war, and tenuousness of life and the impossibility of love. Richard Flanagan’s story – of Dorrigo Evans, an Australian doctor haunted by a love affair with his uncle’s wife – journeys from the caves of Tasmanian trappers in the early twentieth century to a crumbling pre-war beachside hotel, from a Thai jungle prison to a Japanese snow festival, from the Changi gallows to a chance meeting of lovers on the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Taking its title from 17th-century haiku poet Basho’s travel journal, The Narrow Road to the Deep North is about the possibility of love. At its heart is one day in a Japanese slave labour camp in August 1943. As the day builds to its horrific climax, Dorrigo Evans battles and fails in his quest to save the lives of his fellow POWs, a man is killed for no reason, and a love story unfolds.

Megan Says: Brilliant, profound and soul shattering; I have never read a book so deeply human. Even though this is a fiction novel, the sections in the POW camp are based on real accounts. The author’s father, Arch Flanagan, was an Australian POW in World War II. He was taken prisoner by the Japanese and was a laborer on the Death Railroad. Richard Flanagan has brilliantly captured his father’s experiences and presented them in this extraordinary novel.

Call Number: F FLA


Nina
Hundred Thousand KingdomsThe Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
N.K. Jemisin

Synopsis: Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named heiress to the king. But the throne of a Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle.

Nina Says: Jemison is a new voice in high fantasy, creating a vivid world with lush prose, power struggles and gods that are all too human in their desires. Fans of Jacqueline Carrey’s Kushiel’s Legacy series or Majorie M. Liu should give this a try, as should fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of and Fire series (Game of Thrones) if you don’t mind more magic and sorcery mixed in with political machinations. This is the first in the Inheritance trilogy.

Call Number: SFF F JEM


Randall
Fighting over the FoundersFighting over the Founders: How We Remember the American Revolution
Andrew M. Schocket

Synopsis: The American Revolution is all around us. It is pictured as big as billboards and as small as postage stamps, evoked in political campaigns, relived in museums and revised in computer games. As the nation’s founding movement, the American Revolution serves as a source of powerful founding myths, and remains the most accessible and most contested event in U.S. history; more than any other day, it stands as a proxy for how Americans perceive the nation’s aspirations. American’s increased fascination with the Revolution over the past two decades represents more than interest in the past. It’s also a site to work out the present, and the future. What are we using the Revolution to debate?

Randall Says: “Fighting over the Founders” looks at the way the American Revolution continues to influence our national culture, and from historic reenactors to presidential candidates, it is interesting to see how the Founders are invoked to support very different political ideals. Shocket’s style is accessible and entertaining, but he takes the subject very seriously. Recommended to those interested in American history and politics.

Call Number: 973.309 SCH 


pastpicks
ChristyDonnaElizabethMeganNinaRandall
 
 
 
City Of Wylie  |   300 Country Club Road  |   Wylie, Texas  75098  |   972.516.6000
Revize