Teen Volunteering at SPL!

Request email notification when page changes E-Notify


TV Header

In-Person volunteering with the Smith Public Library is back!


To apply to be a teen volunteer with the Smith Public Library, please print and fill out the application linked below. You will need to return it to the teen services desk in-person by 5pm on Friday, August 14th. Emailed applications will not be accepted. All teen volunteer applicants must be 13 years of age as per City of Wylie policy. Due to the high number of applications received, we cannot guarantee that everyone who fills out an application will be accepted. Teen volunteer applicants must have their own library card with the Smith Public Library. This volunteering session lasts from Fall 2021 through Spring 2022.

IN-PERSON TEEN VOLUNTEER APPLICATION




Virtual Volunteering


In addition to our in-person volunteering, we also have a huge list of virtual activities to keep you busy and help you earn those volunteer hours that you still need. You can do these in addition to in-person volunteering if you wish. But they are also available to teens who are still comfortable doing volunteer work from home!

Below are rules and guidelines, descriptions of each of the activities, as well as information on how to submit your activity log. Please direct any questions you may have to the teen librarian at
Kelsey.Sidwell@wylietexas.gov. You may also call the teen reference desk at 972-516-6264.

Link to submit a finished log.

               Guidelines and Rules
 
  • City of Wylie teen volunteers must be at least 13 years of age.

  • All content needs to be appropriate and respectful. No foul language, sexual content, hate speech, etc. The Smith Public Library reserves the right to refuse your activity submissions and deny volunteer credit if the material submitted is deemed offensive or inappropriate. 

  • Due to the high volume of submissions, not all of your work may get posted to the Instagram account. We will try to post as much as we can, and some submissions may share a post with the submissions of another teen. For example, several “shelfies” may be posted to the Instagram account collectively as one post. 

  • You may turn in as many activity logs as you like. You may turn in several activities per log. Each log accepts 5 file uploads and has an additional space to provide links. A librarian will check your activities that were submitted and then double check your corresponding hours. 

  • After submitting each log, you will receive a copy of your recorded responses in your email. These will include how many credit hours you have earned. Please keep track of these for your own records. It is your responsibility to keep track of your hours. 

  • The library is happy to email your teachers, counselors, directors, etc. to confirm your volunteer credit hours. If you have a form that needs to be filled out and submitted, you may either bring it in to the library or send a digital copy to the teen librarian to scan and send back. If you are bringing the form in in-person, please call ahead (972-516-6264) to ensure the teen librarian is present. We can also verify volunteer hours on Schoolinks. 
  • The library cannot supervise and fulfill court mandated community service hours.
  • Please email our teen librarian, Kelsey, at Kelsey.Sidwell@wylietexas.gov with any other questions you may have. We are willing to discuss activity suggestions not mentioned above or more long term projects that can be done virtually for more credit hours. 


Virtual Volunteer Activities


30 Minutes of Volunteer Credit

1-2 sentence book review with 2-3 readalikes: Write a short book review and include the titles and author names of 2-3 similar books. This should be submitted as a Google Doc or a Word Document. Accepted reviews may be posted on the SPL teen Instagram account.

Take a “bookface” photo or recreate a book cover: “Bookface” photos involve strategically lining up your face or body to match the cover art of a book. See examples here: https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/bookface/?hl=en You can also submit an image wherein you recreate a book cover. Accepted images may be posted on the SPL teen Instagram account. Please submit as a .jpg or a .png

Book Spine Poetry: Line up the spines of your books and create a poem! Examples can be found here: https://www.bookbub.com/blog/book-spine-poetry Accepted images may be posted on the SPL teen Instagram account. Please submit as a .jpg or a .png

“Shelfie”: Show off your bookshelf! Send us a photo of your bookcase at home and your image may be posted on the SPL teen Instagram account. Please submit as a .jpg or a .png

Mask selfies: Send us your pics of you in your mask! Get your friends and family together, mask up your dog, or take a selfie solo! Please make sure you are wearing your mask properly (over nose and mouth) in the submitted photo. Accepted images may be posted on the SPL teen Instagram account. Please submit as a .jpg or a .png


1 Hour of Volunteer Credit

Themed Spotify playlist: Create a playlist based around your favorite books! It can be about a certain novel, an entire series, a specific character, a fandom relationship, etc. Playlists must include at least 10 songs and be available to the public on Spotify. Please submit the link to the playlist in your log. Accepted playlists may be posted on the SPL teen Instagram account. 

Themed Virtual Display: Create a virtual display for us! Put together a list of books based on a certain theme. What do they all have in common? Are they all fantasy books with strong female characters? Are they all dystopian novels that include love triangles? Your virtual display should have 8-10 books and be submitted as a Google Doc or a Word Document. Please be sure to explain what they all have in common. Accepted displays may be posted on the SPL teen Instagram account. 

Original Artwork or Fanart: Show off your skills! Are you an artist? Submit your original artwork or fanart to be featured on our social media! All artistic mediums are accepted, including photography. Please submit a photo or scan of your artwork as a .jpg image or a .png image. 

Original Writing, Poetry, or Fanfiction: Are you a writer or poet? Willing to show us how talented you are? Submit your writing to be featured on our Instagram or Facebook page! All writing should be submitted as a Google Doc or as a Word Document. 

Kahoot! Trivia Quiz: Create a free Kahoot! account here: https://kahoot.com/, and make a 10-15 question trivia quiz about your favorite book or series. Submit the link to your quiz in the activity log. Links to accepted quizzes may be posted on the SPL teen Instagram account. 

Book or Library-Related TikTok: Create a TikTok about your favorite book, series, character, etc. Or, make one about visiting the library! It can even just be you talking about the books you’ve read lately. Check out the hashtag #booksuggestions on TikTok for more ideas. Submit the link to your TikTok in the activity log. Accepted TikToks may be posted to the SPL teen Instagram account. 


2 Hours of Volunteer Credit

Writing to a Homebound Wylie Resident: Wylie has lots of senior citizens and homebound folks who are staying at home right now with less company and activity than usual. Write them a letter! You can begin with “Dear Friend,” and then introduce yourself. Talk about how your summer went, or what you’re looking forward to this school year. Talk about your siblings or pets or friends. They may even ask to write you back! All letters should be submitted to the activity log as a Word Document or Google Doc. Letters will be included in the packages sent to the library's Silver Linings participants. 


Link to submit a finished log.



contact information

Wylie Municipal Complex 
300 Country Club Rd., Building 100 Wylie, TX 75098
Main #: 972-429-8080 
Monday – Friday; 8 am – 5 pm

Building Inspection2nd floor 
972-516-6420, permits@wylietexas.gov

City Manager, 1st floor 
972-516-6010, citymgr@wylietexas.gov

City Secretary1st floor 
972-516-6020, citysec@wylietexas.gov

Code Enforcement, 2nd floor 
972-516-6440, code@wylietexas.gov 

Communication/Marketing, 1st floor
972-516-6016, publicinfo@wylietexas.gov

Engineering, 2nd floor 
972-516-6400, cityeng@wylietexas.gov

Finance, 1st floor 
972-516-6120, finance@wylietexas.gov

Human Resources, 3rd floor 
972-516-6040, jobs@wylietexas.gov

Planning and Zoning, 2nd floor 
972-516-6320, planning@wylietexas.gov

Parks Administration, 3rd floor 
972-516-6340, parks@wylietexas.gov

Purchasing, 1st floor 
972-516-6040, purchasing@wylietexas.gov

Utility Billing
, 1st floor 
972-516-6100, utility@wylietexas.gov

Recreation Center
300 Country Club Rd., Building 200
972-516-6340, recreation@wylietexas.gov

Monday – Friday, 5:00 am – 10:00 pm
Saturday, 8:00 am – 8:00 pm
Sunday, Noon – 8:00 pm

Rita and Truett Smith Public Library
300 Country Club Rd., Building 300
972-516-6250, libinfo@wylietexas.gov

Monday - Thursday, 10 am – 8 pm
Friday and Saturday, 10 am – 5 pm
Sunday, Closed

Public Safety Complex
2000 N. Hwy. 78
972-442-8171
Monday – Friday, 8 am – 5 pm

Municipal Court
972-429-8080, court@wylietexas.gov

Police Administration
972-442-8170, police@wylietexas.gov

Public Safety Communications
972-442-8171, wfdadmin@wylietexas.gov

Fire Administration
972-442-8110, wfdadmin@wylietexas.gov

Fire Stations
Station #1,
1400 S. Ballard Ave., 972-429-8071
Station #2, 555 Country Club Rd., 972-429-8072
Station #3, 210 W.A. Allen Blvd., 972-442-8073
Public Works  (Streets, Water and Wastewater)
949 Hensley Ln., Building 300
972-442-7588
After-hours emergency? Contact Police Dispatch, 972-442-8171
Monday – Friday, 7 am – 4 pm


Parks and Recreation Administration
949 Hensley Ln., Building 200
972-516-6340, parks@wylietexas.gov
Monday – Friday, 7 am – 4 pm

Animal Services
949 Hensley Ln., Building 100
972-442-5268, animalcontrol@wylietexas.gov
After-hours emergency? Contact Police Dispatch, 972-442-8171
Monday – Saturday, 8 am – 5 pm

Senior Recreation Center
800 Thomas St.
972-516-6340, recreation@wylietexas.gov
Monday – Friday, 8 am – 4 pm; Saturday, 9 am – 3 pm; Sunday, 1 – 5 pm

Thomas and Mattie Brown House
301 North Ballard Ave.
972-516-6340, recreation@wylietexas.gov 
Tuesday - Saturday, 9 am – 1 pm

Economic Development Corporation
250 S. Hwy. 78
972-442-3367, info@wylieedc.com
Monday – Friday, 8 am – 5 pm

Athletic Field Condition Hotline
972-516-6350

Community Waste Disposal (Bulk Pickup/Trash) 
972-392-9300

© 2021 City of Wylie Powered By Revize Login